AHA announces leaders for the 2016-17 fiscal year

Alvin Royse, JD, CPA, and Steven Houser, PhD, will become the American Heart Association (AHA) chairman and president, respectively, for the 2016-17 fiscal year, which begins on July 1.

Meanwhile, on that same date, Joseph A. Hill, MD, PhD, will begin his tenure as editor-in-chief of Circulation: Journal of the American Heart Association.

Royse, a retired senior partner with Deloitte, is entering the second year of a two-year term and is responsible for the AHA’s business affairs, public relations and fundraising. Houser, the senior associate dean of research at Temple University in Philadelphia, will serve as the AHA’s chief volunteer scientific and medical officer.

Hill, the chief of cardiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, has volunteered with the AHA for more than 10 years and has been on the editorial boards of several of the association’s journals, including Circulation, Circulation Research and Circulation: Cardiovascular Genetics. As editor-in-chief of Circulation, Hill replaces Joseph Loscalzo, MD, PhD, who has been in the role since 2004.

The AHA also announced other leaders for the 2016-17 fiscal year. Raymond Vara Jr., president and CEO of Hawaii Pacific Health in Honolulu, Hawaii, is entering his second year as treasurer. James Postl, a retired president and CEO of Pennzoil-Quaker State Company, will become chairman-elect. In addition, John Warner, M.D., MBA, the CEO of UT Southwestern Hospitals, will become president-elect.