ACC honors 18 people for their contributions to cardiology

The American College of Cardiology (ACC) announced 18 people had received a Distinguished Award for their contribution to the cardiovascular medicine profession.

The recipients, who were nominated by their peers, will receive their awards on April 4 during the ACC’s annual scientific session in Chicago. An ACC committee selected the winners.

Here are the winners:

  • C. Noel Bairy Merz, MD, FACC, of Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute in Los Angeles (the Bernadine Healy Leadership in Women’s CV Award)
  • Margo Minissian, ACNP, CNS, MSN, AACC, of Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute in Los Angeles (the Distinguished Associate Award)
  • Carole A. Warnes, MD, FACC, of the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota (the Distinguished Fellow Award)
  • Kanu Chatterjee, MBBS, FACC, of the University of Iowa in Iowa City (the Distinguished Mentor Ward) – awarded posthumously
  • Daniel Simon, MD, FACC, of University Hospitals Harrington Heart and Vascular Institute in Cleveland (the Distinguished Scientist Award – Basic Domain)
  • Judith Hochman, MD, FACC, of the New York University School of Medicine (the Distinguished Scientist Award – Clinical Domain)
  • Nabil El-Sherif, MB, BCh, FACC, of the Brooklyn VA Medical Center in New York (the Distinguished Scientist Award – Translational Domain)
  • Robert Guyton, MD, FACC, of the Emory Clinic in Atlanta (the Distinguished Service Award)
  • John Michael Criley, MD, FACC, of the St. John’s Cardiovascular Research Center in Torrance, California (the Distinguished Teacher Award)
  • Biykem Bozkurt, MD, PhD, FACC, of the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston (the Gifted Educator Award)
  • Daniel Penny, MD, FACC, of the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston (the International Service Award)
  • William C. Roberts, MD, MACC, of the Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas (the Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Tim Bartholow, MD, of WEA Trust in Madison, Wisconsin (the Honorary Fellow Award)
  • Kenneth Brin, MD, PhD, FACC, of Midwest Heart Specialists in Oak Park, Illinois (Masters of the ACC)
  • Paul L. Douglass, MD, FACC, of Metropolitan Atlanta Cardiology Consultants in Atlanta (Masters of the ACC)
  • Robert Harrington, MD, FACC, of Stanford University in Stanford, California (Masters of the ACC)
  • Kim Allan Williams, Sr., MD, FACC, of Rush University Medical Center in Chicago (Masters of the ACC)
  • Sripal Bangalore, MD, MHA, FACC, of the New York University School of Medicine (the Douglas P. Zipes Distinguished Young Scientist Award)