Stroke researchers and scientists receive national awards

The American Stroke Association plans on honoring nine scientists and stroke researchers at its annual International Stroke Conference in Los Angeles.

Here are the award winners:

  • Philip Bath, FRCP, DSc, a stroke association professor and head of clinical neuroscience at the University of Nottingham in the U.K., will receive the William Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke.
  • Bo Norrving, MD, PhD, a professor of neurology at Lund University in Sweden, will receive the David G. Sherman Lecture Award for his lifetime contributions to the stroke field.
  • Ulrich Dirnagl, MD, a director of experimental neurology at Charité UniversitätsMedizin Berlin in Germany, will receive the Thomas Willis Lecture Award for basic science contributions to the investigation and management of stroke.
  • Solène Moulin, MD, a neurologist and PhD student at the University Hospital of Lille, France, will receive the Vascular Cognitive Impairment Award.
  • Julie Bernhardt, PhD, head of the stroke division at the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health at the University of Melbourne in Australia, will receive the Stroke Rehabilitation Award.
  • Amjad Shehadah, MD, a vascular neurology fellow at the National Institutes of Health, will receive the Mordecai Y. T. Globus New Investigator Award in Stroke.
  • Peter D. Panagos, MD, associate professor of emergency medicine and neurology at Washington University in St. Louis, will receive the Stroke Care in Emergency Medicine Award.
  • Hooman Kamel, MD, assistant professor of neurology and director of the Clinical and Translational Neuroscience Unit in the Brain and Mind Research Institute at Weill Cornell Medicine in New York, will receive the Robert G. Siekert New Investigator in Stroke Award.
  • Yejie Shi, MD, PhD, a postdoctoral associate of neurology at the University of Pittsburgh, will receive the Stroke Basic Science Award.