Mary Norine Walsh begins role as ACC president

On the final day of this year’s American College of Cardiology (ACC) conference, Mary Norine Walsh, MD, assumed her role as the president of the organization.

A ceremony was held March 19 at the conference in Washington, D.C. She is currently the director of the heart failure and cardiac transplantation programs and director of nuclear cardiology at St. Vincent’s Heart Center in Indianapolis, according to a statement from ACC.

She has been a member of the organization for 25 years and has been serving as the president of the Indiana Chapter.

"Volunteering as a member of the ACC has been a very important part of my life. I realized early on that the mission and vision of the college meshed with my own and I really found a 'home' at ACC," Walsh said in a statement. "To succeed the many gifted leaders who are past presidents of the college is truly a dream come true for me. I am so inspired by the dedication of so many of our staff and members who contribute their talents to make our organization better. It is truly my honor to take the helm and lead this year."

Walsh holds undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Minnesota. She did her internship and residency at the University of Texas Southwestern and her fellowship at Washington University School of Medicine. She is also on the editorial board of the Journal of Cardiac Failure and serve as an editorial consultant for JACC: Heart Failure.

She plans to emphasize the importance of team-based care in cardiology as the healthcare landscape moves from being volume-driven to value-driven.

"We need to make our voices heard on Capitol Hill and at our state houses by advocating for patient access, quality care and even public health issues that result in a decrease in cardiovascular morbidity and mortality," Walsh said. "Being an advocacy leader can be a goal for all of our members and I hope to help foster that leadership."

Other ACC leaders include Vice President C. Michael Valentine, MD, Board of Governors Chair B. Hadley Wilson, MD and Treasurer Robert A. Guyton, MD.